Moist Chocolate Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream

Chocolate cupcakes with strawberry buttercreamDespite the frigid middle of this week (go home, April; you’re drunk), I am still so excited that it is finally spring! To celebrate spring and hopefully encourage continued sunshine, I made these scrumptious birthday cupcakes. To me, moist chocolate cake is the absolute BEST kind of cake, and strawberry buttercream made with fresh strawberry puree just shouts spring!

To make these cupcakes I used my favorite chocolate cupcake recipe, and adapted this recipe for strawberry buttercream to fit my batch of cupcakes. One of the reasons this cake recipe has earned the spot as my favorite for cupcakes is because it doesn’t call for coffee! The many, many chocolate recipes that call for coffee encourage non-coffee drinkers to still use them because you can’t taste the coffee flavor. Well, I have nothing against including coffee in my cake batter, but since I don’t drink coffee, I never have it at home! This lovely recipe doesn’t call for coffee, and yields delightful, moist, rich chocolate cupcakes.

These cupcakes would be a perfect ending to your Easter dinner, and are such a snap to make. Heaven knows you don’t need a difficult dessert after the Easter feast you’ll prepare! And all of these ingredients are likely already in your house!

Shout out to my papa for the gorgeous red KitchenAid mixer! It was a Christmas present but this is only the second time I’ve used it (sheepish smile) because I never found a recipe that was worth christening it with! But it sure made these cupcakes a snap, so I’ll be using it all the time now. Thanks, Dad!

What are your favorite spring desserts?

Moist Chocolate Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

For the cupcakes:

1/2 c. white sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
3/4 c. + 2 tbl flour
1/4 c. + 2 tbl cocoa powder
3/4 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. homemade baking powder (or store-bought if you’re not allergic like me!)
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1 egg
1/2 c. milk
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c. boiling water

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin tray with cupcake liners. Add all of the dry ingredients to your mixing bowl. On low speed, mix together until completely blended.

Mixing the dry ingredients

Add the egg, milk, oil, and vanilla to the bowl and mix all ingredients on medium speed until combined.

Mixing the batter

Scrape the sides of the bowl if your batter has started to creep up the walls, and add the boiling water. Mix gently on low speed until just combined. Your cupcake batter will be very watery, but don’t worry! This is how it is supposed to be.

Cupcake batter ready for pouring!

Using a measuring cup, pour equal amounts of batter into each cupcake liner.

Pouring the cupcake batter

Place into the preheated oven and bake for 20-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cupcake comes out clean. Remove the muffin pan from the oven and let the cupcakes cool completely. While you’re waiting, make your frosting!

Baked chocolate cupcakes

For the strawberry buttercream:

1 1/2 sticks of butter, room temperature
2 c. powdered sugar (add more if you want it sweeter or thicker)
5-7 small strawberries, washed, tops removed, and cut in half
1 tsp. homemade vanilla

To help your butter soften quickly, cut it into small pieces about 1 tbl. in size. Place the butter pieces on a small plate, barely touching, and let sit at room temperature until softened.
Softening butter
Add the strawberries to a food processor and puree until smooth and thoroughly liquified.
str3
Add the butter pieces to the bowl of your stand mixer, and cream the butter at a high speed until it is soft and fluffy. Even though I didn’t, you’ll probably get better results using a paddle attachment if you have it!
Creamed butter
Reduce the speed of your mixer. Adding only about one half cup at a time, slowly pour the powdered sugar into the bowl while the mixer is still running. Wait until each addition is fully combined before adding more. Turn the mixer to low speed and slowly add the pureed strawberries and vanilla until all of the frosting ingredients are thoroughly combined. Beat the frosting on medium high speed until it is fluffy.
Strawberry buttercream

Frost your cupcakes with the delicious buttercream and be sure to sneak plenty of “tastes.” To make sure you are only serving your guests the best, of course!

Strawberry topped cupcakes

Enjoy, and Happy Fiesta Friday!

27 thoughts on “Moist Chocolate Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream

    • Thanks Patty! Of course I did! And while I was making them I kept imagining how pretty the icing would be if you’d made them 🙂 We’ll continue to the party with dessert before during and after

      • Haha, Lina, don’t trust me when it comes to frosting. There are just as many misses as there are hits. And I can’t frost a whole cake to save my life. Don’t know why, but I wasn’t meant to make pretty cakes!

  1. Lina, can your dad buy me a Kitchen-Aid mixer too? I’m green with envy (and stuffed with cupcakes) at the moment. I have never owned a mixer, or even an electric hand beater. I do everything by hand, even if it takes a billion years to whip egg whites into fluffy peaks. I have asked my dear hubby for a mixer, and he promised me one as soon as we figure out where to put it. These cupcakes look FABulous, and I will be making them, mixer or no mixer. Have a great Friday, Lina!

    • Wow, Ngan! I’m so impressed at your mixing by hand! That has ME jealous; I need to get like you! But come on over and we can use my mixer for any of your incredible recipes 🙂 I can’t wait to see how amazing they look if you try them! 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday!

  2. I hope your saving a cupcake or two for your Dad…what a lovely gift he bestowed upon you 🙂 As for the cupcakes, Lordy…save me one or two also… please! Chocolate and strawberries… strawberries and chocolate…. no matter how your say it – it works! Thanks for bringing them to the Fiesta so we could all have a taste 🙂 Happy Easter!

  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #12 | The Novice Gardener

I love hearing your thoughts!