Noodle Bowl with Swiss Chard and Poached Egg

Noodle bowl with broken poached eggNoodle bowls are my latest obsession. I’m not sure why I jumped on this bandwagon after wintertime (i.e. soup weather) ended, but it might be because these soothing, one-bowl meals are never too heavy or filling, and therefore are perfect for all seasons. A steamy bowl of whole wheat noodles, sautéed mushrooms, and barely cooked greens floating in rich homemade chicken stock loudly screams “comfort food!” to me. But not too loud, because that’s disruptive and not at all comfortable… Instead of screaming I think it wraps its warm soup hands around my belly and just murmurs “comfort food.” Yeahhh…

And anyone who remembers my Poached Egg over Winter Veggie Hash post remembers how I went on about my love for poached eggs. So of course it only seemed right to top this brothy goodness with one or two poached farm eggs… And then to let that rich, creamy, orange yolk spread into the broth… And hear the choruses of “Hallelujah” all around.

Aaaanyway, noodle bowls are the best. And unlike many comfort foods, they’re healthy! With homemade bone broth that delivers excellent nutrients, dark greens that are full of vitamins, whole wheat noodles, mushrooms, and complex protein from the eggs, you can see why I love them! And I don’t even miss out on flavor due to my soy allergy. Most noodle bowls are made with miso or soy sauce which this girl cannot have. But, Lord be praised, through Googling I discovered coconut aminos- a healthier (lower sodium), soy-free alternative to soy sauce! Combine that with the deep, rich flavors of my homemade stock (which I promise I’ll post about soon), and my noodle bowl tastes just as good as the original!

So today I’m going to tell you my way of making a soy-free, super-quick, super-easy, SUPER-delicious noodle bowl. Buckle up folks (or snuggle in. Cause that’s more comfortable); dinner will be ready in about 30 minutes.

Noodle Bowl with Swiss Chard and Poached Egg

  • Servings: 2, or 1 very hungry person
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1 1/2 – 2 c. water
1 1/2 c. homemade chicken stock
3 oz. whole wheat noodles
2 tsp. coconut aminos (or 1 tsp. miso or soy sauce if you’re not allergic to soy)
1 tsp. salt, optional
1 loose c. julienned Swiss chard (or kale or other green)
1/2 c. chopped mushrooms
1-2 cloves of garlic, sliced

In a medium sized pot, add the water, chicken stock, noodles, salt, and coconut aminos. Bring to a boil over medium high heat, then turn the burner down to medium and cook the noodles until just before they’re done, about 10 minutes.

Noodles and broth

While you’re waiting for the noodles to cook, thinly slice your Swiss chard. Swiss chard is so pretty! I love those magenta veins…

Bunch of Swiss chard

Once the noodles have cooked for about 10 minutes, add your greens to the pot. Turn off the heat, cover, and let the pot sit so that the greens are gently cooking in the residual heat.

Swiss chard in the pot

While you’re waiting, chop up your mushrooms and garlic and add them to the pot as well. Cover once again and let it sit.

Mushrooms over Swiss chard

Again, while you’re waiting, poach your egg(s) according to this method. It’s the best way I’ve found to make perfect, neat poached eggs!

When your noodle mixture is done cooking, it should look something like this. Pour the contents of the pan into a deep bowl that you can snuggle into your hands. (Hand snuggling not required.)

Noodles bowl in the pot

Add your poached egg(s) to the bowl.

Noodle bowl with poached egg

And then comes that sweet, glorious moment where you break the yolk and let that pretty natural sauce flow into your soup. Yum!

Noodle bowl with broken poached egg

 That was so easy, right? If you don’t have allergies like me, I’d recommend adding julienned carrots to the pot and topping the bowl with chopped scallions at the end!

I can’t wait to try this with thinly sliced cabbage as well!

Enjoy your spring-time comfort food, perfect for the end of a long week. Speaking of, Happy Fiesta Friday!!!

23 thoughts on “Noodle Bowl with Swiss Chard and Poached Egg

  1. Pingback: Homemade Crockpot Chicken Stock | strictlydelicious

  2. Lina, I have decided that we are going to be poached egg sisters. Your post had me salivating. Plus, I love that you don’t overcook your greens! Pass me a bowl, my friend! 😀

  3. Mmmm. I have been reading about the amazing health benefits of chard and wondering how I can incorporate it into my diet. This looks like the perfect recipe! I can’t wait! 😀

  4. Oh Lina…so…in my mind…I’m thinking that you just need to put all of the poached eggs right in that big pot of broth and noodles and swiss chard….and then just hand me a spoon and / or fork, because I’d like to eat the whole pot to myself!! This looks absolutely fabulous.. right up my alley!! Yum!!
    Thank you so much for bringing such an awesome meal to the table for Fiesta Friday!! This looks so incredibly delicious, that I know everyone will love it just as much as I do!! ❤

    • Oh my goodness Prudy; thanks so much! You got it, I have a big pot of noodles and chard and poached eggs sitting right here with a spoon for you! I’m so glad you enjoy it, and I hope it wraps up your Friday just right 🙂

  5. Pingback: (A Forager’s) Fiesta Friday #13 | The Novice Gardener

  6. Fabulous! I’m obsessed with Noddles & Co. lately, and this delicious bowl looks like it could save me a trip! Simple ingredients…yet, I imagine, delicious results.

  7. Simple and delicious, I imagine that dark and beautiful broth goes well with the whole wheat noodles. Noodle soup is really meant for any time, day or night! I’m Vietnamese and noodle soup is the meal to be eaten in hot or cold weather, year-round. Happy Friday!

I love hearing your thoughts!

