The One Lovely Blog Award!

One Lovely Blog AwardIt’s an amazing thing when someone thinks more of you than you think of yourself. I’m not one to have low self-confidence, but I often think that some of the things I do are just fun projects, and I don’t allow myself to think of their full potential. I’m not really a risk taker! Well, Lori at Creating Beauty in the Kitchen helps me see that my blog is not just a tool for me to chronicle recipes that work for my allergies and to meet awesome bloggers. It is something that other people read and enjoy reading! And sometimes, people even try what they see on my blog! Or they’re informed about or encouraged about living life with a strict diet. Or, sometimes they like your blog so much that they nominate you for awesome blog awards!!! 😀

So Lori, thank you for helping me not to be selfish with my blog, but to see that other people read it and enjoy it and support me in what I’m doing. And thank you to all of my other readers, because you all are just beautiful people and I am so glad to be connected with each of you! This project has truly been a wonderful experience, and we’re just getting started!

Okay, okay, I realize I sound like I’m weeping onstage at the Oscars, so let’s get on to the good stuff!

Seven things about me:

  1. I am extremely passionate about educating young women (tweens, teens, and young adults) about identity things like: healthy body image, healthy relationships, and how to recognize and exercise their agency. I know the consequences of teenage-hood without these awarenesses, and I strive to be sure that the girls I interact with don’t suffer those consequences too.
  2. I have two siblings, one brother and one sister. I am the oldest, but no one ever thinks this is the case! My brother, the middle child, is a foot and a half taller than me, and people think my sister, the baby and four years younger than me, and I are twins. And when we assure them that we are not, they think she is the older one! But I’m getting to be okay with that 😉
  3. I really don’t like working out. I still do it because it makes me feel great and look great and it benefits my future self, but I really don’t like it. Which is actually surprising because I used to be so athletic and I used to LOVE going to the gym!
  4. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate. I know; blasphemy, right?! I indulge a chocolate craving every now and then, but usually I want my desserts to be fruity or some unique combination like the ginger pound cake topped with bleu cheese and poached rhubarb that I had out last night!
  5. And even though I have a huuuuge sweet tooth, on most days I would rather indulge in a savory treat instead of a sweet one. Here’s to cheesy veggies or a few chicken wings in place of dessert!
  6. The one thing I “cheat eat” the most (by that I mean food I’m allergic to that I’m not supposed to eat) is potatoes. Namely french fries! Realizing this was very strange to me because I actually never used to eat french fries that much before I knew I was allergic to potatoes! le sigh…
  7. I am a psychology nut. I studied it in college, and believe it applies to everything in life. I especially love the psychology of personality and of non-verbal communication. I love learning about people! (Sooo… If you wanna tell me in the comments what your personality type is according to any test and how it’s manifested in your life, I will eat it up! Let me know!)

Well that was a random collection of confessions facts about me! Let’s move on to the even good-er stuff…

Nominating blogs and bloggers for the One Lovely Blog award! Congratulations to all of the lovely blogs and bloggers! Here are the rules should you choose to participate:

  •  Add the “One Lovely Blog Award” image to your post
  • Share seven things about you.
  • Pass the award on to seven nominees.
  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Inform the nominees by posting on their blogs.

Here are five blogs I think strongly deserve the One Lovely Blog award:

  1. Basil, Butter, and Breadcrumbs– I love Prudy’s recipes! She makes THE classiest, beautiful, original comfort food I have ever seen. Her recipes are like fine dining dishes that you can make at home with normal people ingredients. Which, obviously is just perfect! So… If you haven’t already, check her blog out!
  2. The Optimistic Househusband– Men who cook are a wonderful thing. And this gentleman can THROW DOWN. But not only are his recipes wonderful and delicious, but he also posts about his gardening, sewing, and home improvement adventures! I really enjoy seeing this guy in the blogosphere and reading each new post.
  3. Clean Eats, Fast Feets– Healthy, yummy recipes and snappy, witty writing. I really enjoy my posts from Meghan! She keeps it real and doesn’t make me feel like eating healthy is something for people on a pedestal who want to only eat rabbit food. It’s for real people like me who love cheese and beer. She shows that the important thing is finding a delicious, energetic balance!
  4. What Jessica Baked Next– A blog I’ve only recently started following through my weekly partying at Fiesta Friday (yes, I’m not old, I party every week!), Jessica’s food is incredible. Beautifully styled, photos good enough to eat, and almost always something I’ve never heard of or thought of. She inspires me to branch out and create some truly unique and beautiful things. A lovely blog indeed!
  5. The Seasoned Traveler– Laura’s metropolitan sophistication is evident in her writing and her friendliness. And of course in her recipes! They almost always include an ingredient I’ve not thought of using as she has, or a new twist on a favorite. I am honored to nominate her lovely blog, photos, and recipes for this award!
10 thoughts on “The One Lovely Blog Award!

  1. Aw, why thank you for the lovely nomination. I didn’t even know you were a reader. I love to hear from new faces so please feel free to speak up more.

    While I am not much of a beer girl myself, I do like some hard cider, wine, perhaps a fruity cocktail. Life is all about balancing and moderation and doing what you love. I just so happen to love cheese. And potatoes so it’s a pity you’re allergic. 😦

    Like you, I could pass on chocolate desserts in favor of something fruity any day of the week and twice on Tuesdays.

    Have a great weekend, and I hope I hear more from you in the future. Thanks again. I really appreciate the nomination!

  2. Weeping at the Oscars? Yes, ok, but what are you wearing at the Oscars?! I liked reading your confessions, err, fun facts! And btw, I’ve been planning my mason jar salads all day in my head, all inspired by your post several weeks ago!

    • Ngan, I like to channel Lupita Nyong’o when I imagine myself at the Oscars. Basically anything she’s worn I would DIE to wear. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post!

      And I can’t wait to hear about your mason jar salads! That’s so exciting!!! You’ll love how easy they make lunch/dinner.

  3. Haha….When I commented above, I didn’t realize that I hadn’t seen this yet! 🙂 Congrats again! And thanks for your sweet words! I love how you said that it helps you not to be selfish with your blog! That is so neat….I had never thought about it that way before! Love it! Fun to learn more new things about you!

I love hearing your thoughts!

