Spinach & Mushroom Orecchiette with Bay Scallops

20140227-213205.jpgFirst off, I want to apologize that it has been so long since I last posted. Guess who finally got a social life?! Yes, my friends, it’s true. My introverted self has been challenged to actually be around real live people. gasp. How terrifying! But I am enjoying it. Sadly, that does translate to less time for cooking and blogging! But, I am learning balance, and promise to try to not leave for so long again.

I bring to you today another scallops dish.
If I only I could explain the sweet, guilty pleasure that comes from eating something you thought you were allergic to your entire life! Every time I eat scallops or clams, I still can’t believe that I’m eating seafood with no reaction! (Still haven’t gotten the guts to try tuna yet…)

But since my discovery of legal seafood, I’ve fallen in love with scallops. The tender, flavorful, decadent seafood pairs well with so many different things. And they cook up in just minutes! Today we place tiny bay scallops over orecchiette, my new favorite pasta. (That rank might have been achieved because the word “orecchiette” is so fun to say. Or maybe it’s because the tiny pasta cups are just so cute. Either way, don’t you judge me.) Add bright fresh spinach and sautéed mushrooms, and you have dinner that is super quick, super easy, super healthy, and super delicious.

What healthy pasta dishes do you enjoy?

Spinach & Mushroom Orecchiette with Bay Scallops

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

3 c.water
2/3 c. dry orecchiette
1-2 c. spinach, washed
4 oz. baby bella mushrooms
2 tsp. olive oil
20 bay scallops
1 tsp. ghee
Sea salt

Add the water and pasta to a medium sized pot and cook according to package directions.

After washing the veggies, slice the spinach into thin ribbons and chop the mushrooms into tiny cubes.

20140227-213120.jpg

In a small saucepan, heat the olive oil until shimmering. Add the mushrooms and sauté until soft and browning.

20140227-213133.jpg

Once the pasta has cooked all the way through, turn off the burner. Drain the cooking liquid and return the pasta to the pot. Add the mushrooms and fresh spinach, and put a lid on the pot. (The burner is still off at this point. The residual heat from the pot and the pasta will cook the spinach just enough, but not overcook it.) Set the covered pot to the side.

20140227-213140.jpg

On a paper towel, dry your bay scallops and sprinkle with sea salt. Add the ghee to a small saucepan and place on a burner at medium-high heat.

20140227-213146.jpg

When the ghee is heated, add the scallops to the pan and cook, swirling often, for about two minutes. Trust me, it doesn’t take more than that to cook these ba(b)y scallops. (See what I did there?!)

20140227-213152.jpg

Add the pasta and veggies to a bowl or plate and top with your scallops. If desired, (and I highly recommend it!) sprinkle shaved parmesan all over your dish.

20140227-213158.jpg

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Spinach & Mushroom Orecchiette with Bay Scallops

I love hearing your thoughts!

