Skillet Duck Breast with Blood Orange, Red Wine Reduction

20140224-164325.jpgI don’t know about you, but I’m not quite done with romance. Specifically, romantic food. Maybe it’s the fact that Valentine’s Day was so recent, maybe I didn’t get to do everything I wanted to on Valentine’s Day, or maybe, just maybe it’s because I never need a reason to cook myself a romantic dinner! On Friday night on the way home from work, I knew I had to romance myself that evening. And what better way to romance oneself than with delicious food?!

I created this recipe a week ago (my first time making duck at home!), and was absolutely thrilled with the result. Decadence that took almost no effort. You know I love that! And although I wasn’t able to take pictures when I made it then, I knew it wouldn’t be long until I made it again. Unfortunately, the photos I took this time do not come anywhere near capturing the deliciousness of this meal, but trust me when I say, you will LOVE it! I knew it was the perfect way to wind down a long week, and to celebrate Fiesta Friday! Of course, I paired this dish with a lovely glass of Cabernet. I was so satisfied I almost didn’t even want dessert! (Almost.)

Here’s to counting down to the next Friday!

Skillet Duck Breast with Blood Orange, Red Wine Reduction

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

One duck breast
1 tbl. coarse sea salt (my homemade rosemary salt was fantastic here)

For the sauce:
2 blood oranges, quartered
1/2 c. dry red wine
2 tbl. sugar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Juice the orange quarters into a small pot. Add the wine, sugar, and cinnamon and bring to a boil over medium high heat. Once the mixture has reached a boil, turn it down to medium low until reduced about to 1/4 of the original volume, about 30 minutes. Stir occasionally. (If you want it even more syrup-y, cook it longer until it reduces further.)

20140222-083726.jpgMeanwhile, dry the duck breast on both sides with paper towels. Cut diagonal slits in the skin about 1/2-1 inch apart. These should just slice through the skin and fat underneath, not cutting into the meat. Sprinkle the sea salt over both sides of the duck breast.

20140222-083743.jpgPlace the duck breast skin side down in a skillet on the stove with the heat off. With most other meats, you want to place them in an already hot pan to sear in the juices and flavor. But with duck, you want to render the fat off slowly and get the meat to cook in its own fat, so you want to bring the breast to heat with the pan. Turn the heat on to medium-low and cook the duck on one side until much of the fat is rendered, about 5-6 minutes.

20140222-083752.jpgWhen the skin has gotten golden and crispy, turn the duck breast with tongs. Cook for about 2-3 minutes with the meat side down and turn again.

20140222-083801.jpgCook for an additional 2-3 minutes with the skin side down again and remove to a plate. Let the duck breast rest.

20140222-083810.jpgWhen your blood orange red wine sauce has adequately reduced and thickly covers the back of a spoon, strain it through a mesh sieve.

20140222-083916.jpgPour the reduction over your duck breast, and if desired, garnish with fresh parsley and a slice of blood orange.

20140222-084008.jpg

I paired the duck breast with some asparagus spears that I sautéed quickly in the rendered duck fat. The whole meal was done so quickly, but tasted exquisite!

20140222-083925.jpg

Valentine’s Day for yourself should be everyday! Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Skillet Duck Breast with Blood Orange, Red Wine Reduction

  1. I’ve been hooked on blood oranges recently and this use of them looks delicious! I’ve gone “duck-less” in my kitchen thus far, but your recipe gives me an “I think I can” attitude! Thanks for sharing such a yummy post 🙂

  2. Pingback: Healthy Single Serve, Deep Dish, Salted, Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie | strictlydelicious

  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #4 | The Novice Gardener

  4. Wow, Lina, this does sound decadent and romantic! I’ve never cooked duck myself although I’ve had it many times, mostly in the form of roasted duck. This recipe definitely deserves to be tried. Thank you for bringing this to the Fiesta! XOXO

I love hearing your thoughts!

