Seared Sea Scallops with Coconut, Browned Butter, Butternut Squash Purée

20140208-195335.jpgHappy belated Valentine’s Day!! ❤

Words cannot describe my excitement, when, after an entire life believing I was allergic to all seafood, I found that I can in fact legally eat scallops, clams, and tuna. A random trio to be sure… But legal seafood nonetheless! As excited as I was, it took me months to get up the courage to put my body to the test. Scallops were the first I tried. How strange and exciting and forbidden to have the seafood flavor in my mouth, but experience no allergic reaction! The first scallops I tried were seared with crispy edges on the outside and tender and buttery on the inside. I ate them out at restaurants three times, and I was absolutely hooked.

When I began to think of my addition to Angie’s Fiesta Friday blog party (yes, I know I’m a little late with this post) I knew that it was time to try my hand at making scallops at home. Not only were they healthy and delicious, but a very romantic meal 🙂 I knew my creation had to have scallops seared with crispy edges and paired with something smooth and slightly sweet. I started with the idea of butternut squash, and made this creation up as I went.

In true fiesta Friday (not speaking on the host or any other participants of Fiesta Friday here, I’m speaking solely on how I fiesta my Fridays…) and romantic evening spirit, I paired this dish with a Spanish white wine (50% Verdejo and 50% Viura). This entire (easy) meal was indeed a stellar finish to a long, exhausting week, and perfect for a romantic evening.

¡Te presenta a (I present to you) Seared Sea Scallops with Coconut, Browned Butter Butternut Squash Purée!

Seared Sea Scallops with Coconut, Browned Butter, Butternut Squash Purée

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

5 sea scallops
2 tbl. butter or ghee, separated
1 tsp. olive oil
sea salt to taste

1 c. cubes of butternut squash (see how to peel and cut butternut squash here)
1/2 c. Trader Joe’s coconut milk
1 tbl. shredded, unsweetened organic coconut
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. brown sugar
sprinkle cumin
sprinkle nutmeg

Add the cubed butternut squash and coconut milk to a small pot. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, then turn the heat down to medium and cook the squash until it is soft and can be easily pierced with a fork. Remove from heat.

20140208-195130.jpgDry the scallops thoroughly on paper towels. Season on both sides with sea salt. In a saucepan over medium heat, heat 1 tbl. butter until it has melted and is bubbling. Add the olive oil.

20140208-195138.jpgWhen the oil and butter are hot (but not smoking and not yet browned), add the scallops to the pan. Cook without moving until they’ve seared on one side, about 2-3 minutes.

20140208-195145.jpg

With tongs, turn them over and behold that glorious seared side. Sear them again on the other side, about 2-3 minutes. When they’re done cooking, remove the pan from heat and set the scallops aside to rest.

20140208-195218.jpg

In a food processor, add the spices, shredded coconut, and the cooked butternut squash and coconut milk. Puree until smooth.

puree collage In a saucepan on medium high heat, melt the remaining tablespoon of butter. It will melt, foam, turn golden brown, and then turn nutty brown. Watch it carefully, swirling the pan often. When it has reached a nutty brown (see below) remove from heat immediately. Add the browned butter to the puree and blend again until smooth.

20140208-195226.jpgAdd the butternut squash puree to a bowl or plate and top with the scallops. I garnished my dish with capers because I love a good salty-sweet combination. This would also be great topped with fresh parsley or chopped sage.

20140208-195342.jpgI hope you all had a wonderful Valentine’s Day. And who says tonight can’t be Valentine’s again?! Enjoy!

20140208-195404.jpg

16 thoughts on “Seared Sea Scallops with Coconut, Browned Butter, Butternut Squash Purée

  1. Hi Lina, these scallops look amazing! I usually eat scallops by themselves or on a salad, but placing them in a butternut squash puree just adds a whole level of goodness to them. I’m excited to try this!

  2. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day! (also Fiesta Friday #3) | The Novice Gardener

  3. It looks very delicious, Lina! And I love that you served this with butternut puree; it makes for a very healthy meal. Of course, I also love that you pair it with Spanish wine, in a true fiesta spirit. Thanks for joining Fiesta Friday. 🙂

I love hearing your thoughts!

