Sunbutter Chocolate Bites | A legal sweet treat

20140120-143406.jpgLately, I have been on the quest for healthy alternatives to snacks, especially dessert. But it’s extremely hard to find desserts that taste good and are safe for my allergies! Fortunately, finding safe chocolate opened up the door for a lot of desserts, but making healthy options has eluded me for quite some time. Finally, I stumbled upon an awesome healthy food blog called Kellie’s Food to Glow! Among other healthy, delicious recipes, I found one for Chocolate Almond Butter Bites.

This little goodie is definitely a sweet treat, but uses healthy ingredients. The only sweetener is chopped dates, the dark chocolate provides antioxidants, and the protein-rich nut butter helps you feel satisfied with just one! And although I cannot have nut butter, sunflower seed butter worked perfectly in this recipe.

I just love taking the little mini muffin papers out of the refrigerator and unwrapping these delights. They’re the perfect size to satiate my sweet tooth, but not feel as though I’m overindulging! They do require a little work to get the chocolate right, but it is well worth the effort. I’ve also included quite a few pictures below to guide you through!

I hope you enjoy!

Sunbutter Chocolate Bites

  • Servings: 25
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

1 c. SoyFree Sales semi-sweet chocolate chips
8 chopped dates
1/4 c. SunButter (or other nut or seed butter)
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. sea salt

In a double boiler, melt the chocolate chips, stirring consistently. While the chocolate is melting, separate and arrange your mini muffins papers on a baking sheet. When the chocolate is melted and stirred smooth, drop about 1/2 teaspoon of melted chocolate into each cup.

20140120-143256.jpgUsing your spoon, spread the chocolate around the bottom of the paper and gently push it up the sides. Place in the refrigerator or freezer to harden, about 15 minutes.

cho2

While your chocolate is cooling, add dates, sunflower seed butter, vanilla, and salt to a food processor. Process until all ingredients are blended and have formed a “dough.” When your chocolate is cool, remove the baking sheet from the fridge. Roll little balls of about 1 tsp. of dough and gently press into each chocolate cup.

20140120-143325.jpg

Reheat remaining chocolate over double boiler if necessary, and spoon a small amount over the sunflower seed butter filling. Use your spoon to push the chocolate to the edges of the paper.

20140120-143333.jpg

Set in the refrigerator or freezer again to harden for about 15 minutes. When they’re all done, they should look like this!

20140120-143350.jpg

Store in the fridge, and when you’re ready to eat, unwrap a candy and enjoy!

chcoll

What kinds of healthy treats do you like to indulge in?

9 thoughts on “Sunbutter Chocolate Bites | A legal sweet treat

  1. Pingback: Sunbutter Cups | Experiment No. 1

  2. Made these this afternoon. They turned out great! I wrote a brief post about it that I’d like to publish on Monday (linking to your blog and recipe of course) if it’s all right with you. These are too good not to share.

  3. Oh man, these look delicious, and I can actually eat them (I have multiple food allergies too). How exciting! I had never heard of Soy Free Sales as a source for allergy-friendly chocolate. I typically bake/nibble on Enjoy Life chocolate and snacks. I’m sure you’ve heard of them, but if not, they’re worth checking out and I think you can have most of their stuff (just watch out for oats in a few of the baked goods).

    • Thanks for that tip, Jen! I have heard of their semi-sweet chocolate chips, but haven’t tried them yet! The reason I purchased from Soy Free Sales is because I was desperate for corn-free, soy-free white chocolate chips and finally found them on their website. I was very excited 🙂

      I’m so glad you like the recipe, and if you make them, please let me know how it goes!

      • Oh, now that you mention it, I don’t know if Enjoy Life is certified corn-free. I haven’t seen it as one of the listed ingredients on their chocolate, but I don’t know for sure. They should have that information on their website.

        Hope to make these soon and will definitely let you know how it goes. 🙂

I love hearing your thoughts!

