Beer & Thyme Roasted Pork Tenderloin

pk4I don’t know about you, but when I’m thinking what I want for dinner, sometimes I don’t want steak OR chicken (being allergic to seafood, my meat choices are pretty limited). Sometimes I just want pork- the savory, tender meat that is right in between the two. And, although I love pork ribs, I usually don’t have two and a half hours to wait for dinner to cook after a long day at work! When I want a pork dinner that cooks super fast, is delicious, and tastes like I put a ton of work into it, pork tenderloin is my game.

This time I decided to try something new, and marinated my tenderloin ahead of time in a dark, flavorful beer. While it didn’t give the meat a marked beer flavor, it certainly gave it a new, unique, delicious taste that I loved and made the meat meltingly tender. I paired my pork tenderloin with sautéed green beans and homemade sweet potato gnocchi for a hearty, quick meal that satisfied both my belly and my taste buds.

Beer & Thyme Roasted Pork Tenderloin

Pork tenderloin, between 1.5-2 lbs.
1 can Abita Turbodog beer (or other dark beer, but Abita beer is corn-free)
8-10 sprigs of fresh thyme
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1 tsp. and 1 1.2 tsp sea salt, divided

Eight to ten hours before cooking, place the pork tenderloin in a plastic ziplock bag. Pour the bottle of beer over the tenderloin. Add 4-5 sprigs of fresh thyme, 1 tsp. sea salt, and the ground pepper. Seal the bag, shake, and place it in the refrigerator to marinate until cooking time.

prkbag

When you are ready to begin dinner, take the pork out of the refrigerator and preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Remove the tenderloin from the beer marinade with as little liquid as possible. Place the meat on a metal baking pan covered in foil. Season the meat with the remaining 1 1/2 tsp. sea salt, and massage the salt into the meat. Pull the leaves off of the remaining 4-5 sprigs of thyme and sprinkle them over the meat. If desired, drizzle a little bit of olive oil over the meat. Let the tenderloin come to room temperature while the oven preheats.

pk2

When the oven is heated, place the baking dish in the oven and roast the pork for 20 minutes. While you are waiting for it to cook, cook your side dishes. When the pork is done, remove it from the oven and let it rest in the baking pan for 15 minutes.

Then slice, serve, and enjoy!

20140103-193135.jpg

How do you like to cook pork tenderloin?

I love hearing your thoughts!

