Homemade Dinner Rolls

rolls crDinner rolls are a family-get-together tradition in my family. My mom is always asked to make them whenever our family gets together for holidays. I always looked at those fluffy, rarely enjoyed rolls reverently, and wished I could have them more often. Well last night I asked myself, “Why should I not try to make my own dinner rolls?” So I did! And when I tried them, I fell in love. So soft and warm and buttery, just the way they should be. And I loved them all the more because I was the one who put in work to make them.

You’ll love how easy these dinner rolls are. They’re so simple that after only two times making them, I have the ingredients and steps memorized. The most time required is for the dough to rise twice, and even so, they’re ready in about an hour and a half. Even though I just got a KitchenAid mixer (yay!), I didn’t even break it out for these. All you need is a big bowl and a spoon. I hope you like these as much as I do!

Homemade Dinner Rolls

  • Servings: 15 large rolls
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1 package yeast
1 1/2 c. warm water
3 tbl. granulated sugar
2 tbl. vegetable oil
1 tsp. sea salt
4 c. King Arthur flour

In a large bowl, stir the yeast, warm water, and sugar. Let it sit for about five minutes, or until the yeast mixture is creamy and has tiny bubbles on its surface. Add the vegetable oil, salt, and two cups of the flour. Mix well with your spoon. Add in another cup of flour and stir until just combined. Add your final cup of flour and mix gently until thoroughly combined. Your dough should be elastic-y and coming off the sides of your bowl.

Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead about 4-6 times. Oil the surface of a clean bowl, pat your dough into a ball, and place the dough ball into your oiled bowl. Cover with a dish towel and place it in a warm area to rise for 20-30 minutes.

Once your dough has about doubled in size, tear off a piece and form it into a roll shape. Do this by tucking the ends under until you have a smooth ball of dough. Place the roll into a buttered glass 9×13 baking dish. Continue until you have used all of your dough. (The size of your dough ball call vary depending on how large you want your finished rolls to be, but keep in mind- these will rise one more time, so don’t make them to actual desired size.) Cover the baking dish with your dish towel and place in a warm area to rise for another 20-30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Once the rolls have risen the second time, bake in your preheated oven for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown. (Baking time will depend on the size of your rolls, so keep an eye on them.) Brush the tops with butter and serve.

20131231-195734.jpg

As you can see, I didn’t get to take a picture before they were attacked… Enjoy! 20131231-195741.jpg

One thought on “Homemade Dinner Rolls

  1. Pingback: Sick Boyfriend Chicken Soup | strictlydelicious

I love hearing your thoughts!

