Roasted Beets with Feta and Crispy Skin Chicken

20131209-210519.jpgWithout fail, every time I starts getting cold, I start craving roasted vegetables. I don’t know what it is about the chilly air, but every time I need to start wrapping myself in scarves, I crave the salty, sweet, slightly nutty, delicious flavors of roasted vegetables. So obviously, the gorgeous crop of roasted beets at the grocery store sucked me in like a moth to the flame.

Last night I opted to try these gorgeous beets (that I can’t for the life of me remember what they are called!) I beg you, don’t balk at beets if you’ve had them before and never liked them. I didn’t like beets before I had them roasted, and now, I’m addicted. You’ve got to try them this way!

Roasted Beets with Feta

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

4 small beets, stems removed
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/4-1/2 tsp. thyme
2 tbsp. feta cheese
2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

Wash beets well and place them in a large pot covered with water. Boil for 15-20 minutes or until skin can slide off with little pressure. Place cooked beets in cold water to cool down, and preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Once your beets have cooled, peel off the skin and root pieces. (Aren’t these so pretty?? Ombre before cut, and this beautiful marbling on the inside! I love beets.)

beetcoll

Cut beets into cubes. Toss in a bowl with olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme to coat. Spread on a foil covered baking sheet and roast for 25-30 minutes, or until the edges begin to get a little crispy.

Serve, drizzle with balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with crumbled feta cheese. Enjoy your chilly night!

20131209-210501.jpg20131209-210533.jpg

I paired these beautiful beets with some skillet crispy skin chicken (my favorite way to have chicken). To make, follow these directions.

Skillet Crispy Skin Chicken

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

2 chicken thighs
1 tbsp. olive oil.
1 tbsp. butter
Sea salt and ground pepper to taste

Add butter and olive oil to the skillet and heat on medium high heat. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

As always when cooking meat, dry chicken thoroughly on paper towels. Season both sides with salt and pepper. When the oil in the pan is very hot and the butter is bubbling (but not brown), add the chicken thighs to the skillet, skin side down. Cook without moving until golden brown, about 3-5 minutes. Flip chicken with tongs and cook for about 3 additional minutes on the other side.

Pop your skillet in the oven and cook for about 20 minutes. Your skin should be crispy, like this, and there should be no red juices running from the meat. Remove from the oven and let the chicken rest in the skillet for about ten minutes before cutting or serving.

Mmm, cracking skin + tender meat = sweet indulgence!

chx

I love hearing your thoughts!

