Lentil Soup

Nearly every weekend, one of the items on my To Do list is to make lunch for the upcoming week. I never have time in the morning (and I never make time in the evening) to make lunch for the day. It is so much easier to just have it all pre-packaged at the beginning of the week so that all I have to do in the morning is grab a container on my way out the door.

For my first allergen-free lunch-for-the-week, I looked in my pantry to see what allergy legal lunch items I had. Lo and behold, something simple, super quick, and oh-so-easy! Lentils! And I had just discovered on Delphi Forums that Trader Joe’s jasmine rice is confirmed corn-free, and I knew it would go perfectly with the lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

Unfortunately, I’m used to cooking every other type of bean except lentils, so without reading the package first, I rinsed and dumped the entire bag into my dutch oven! You do not need to replicate my silly mistake. Follow the directions on the package and cook 1 cup of dry lentils.

1 c. dry lentils
5 c. water
3-4 cloves of fresh garlic (being Cuban, I LOVE garlic, so adjust your amount of garlic to taste)
1 large onion, peeled
1 medium sized carrot, washed
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
dash of olive oil

Jasmine Rice

1 c. Trader Joe’s jasmine rice
2 c. water
dash of olive oil
1 tsp sea salt

Rinse your lentils in a wire mesh sieve a few times. Add the rinsed beans and water to a Dutch oven.

Chop your carrot and onion. These pieces can be relatively large and rough. Throw those pieces into a food processor with the garlic and process until all the ingredients are diced well. Add your diced vegetables, a generous dash of olive oil, and ground black pepper to the Dutch oven. Cook over medium-high heat until it reaches a boil, then turn down to medium-low and cook for 35-40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Salt to taste.

About halfway through the cooking time for the beans, add 1 cup jasmine rice, 2 cups of water, a dash of olive oil, and sea salt to a pot. Cook on medium-high heat until it reaches a boil, then turn the heat down to medium and cook for an additional 15-20 minutes, stirring often.

Add rice to a bowl and top with lentils, or package in individual containers for lunch. Make sure you get enough of that delicious lentil broth!

One thought on “Lentil Soup

  1. This is exceptionally well done! You have a future here. The pictures are great, the text is delightful, the food looks scrumptious and your profile picture is lovely. I think you can take this as far as you want. I see a cookbook in the offing. Signed, Carina

I love hearing your thoughts!

